What are the different types of customs clearance?

Modified on Wed, 15 Mar 2023 at 10:52 AM

Customs clearance is the process of obtaining permission to bring goods into a country from abroad. There are two main types of customs clearance:

  • Formal entry: This is required for goods that will be sold or consumed in the importing country, and involves paying duties and taxes on the goods.

  • Informal entry: This is for goods that will be temporarily imported and then re-exported, and does not require payment of duties and taxes

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article